RSS

It’s like the Oscars in here.

26 Feb

Thanks to the brilliant Aloha over at Embracing Insanity, I have been given not one…not two…but four blogging awards! I am extremely grateful to you for this, Aloha, even though the icon for one of these awards is, to say the least, simply horrifying. We’ll get that one over with first.

Mrs. Sparkly’s Ten Commandments

How does that thing even exist? Seriously, just look at it. I’m going to have nightmares.

Now, for this award, I must answer the following questions.

Describe Yourself in Seven Words: Paranoid, sarcastic, obsessive, nerdy, a-touch-morbid (totally one word), spontaneous, awkward.

What Keeps You Up At Night: Irrational worries, ideas, and plans for the future.

Whom Would You Like to Be: Someone well-known for her writing. Ideally, my writing will have changed someone’s life for the better, even a little bit.

What Are You Wearing Right Now: Jeans, t-shirt from the Grand Canyon, argyle socks.

What Scares You: Dogs, large open spaces, clowns, and growing up and having responsibilities.

What Was the Last Website You Looked At: I did a Google search for how old Benedict Cumberbatch is.

What Is One Thing You Want to Change About Yourself: I would like to have a bit more self-confidence and have natural instincts allowing me to successfully navigate complex social situations.

Slankets, Yes or No: What in the name of Grendel’s mother is a Slanket? I’m too lazy to look it up, so I’ll just be safe and say no.

Tell Us Something About the Person Who Nominated You: Aloha is thoroughly amazing. She’s witty, a talented writer, and a proud nerd, and I really admire her. We met when she reblogged my Freshly Pressed post.

Now, for award number two:

The Sunshine Award

Well, this icon’s a bit better, even if it dates back to the ancient times of 2011.

Apparently, for this one I’m supposed to thank the person who nominated me, so thanks again, Aloha! Now, more questions.

Favorite colors: Glossy black and purple.

Favorite animal: Corvids (ravens, crows and magpies).

Favorite number: 7.

Favorite drink: Coffee, with tea at a close second.

Facebook or Twitter: Twitter.

Your passion: Writing–words in general.

Giving or Receiving: Giving.

Favorite pattern: Plaid.

Favorite day of the week: Saturday.

Favorite flower: Carnations.

Award number three is:

The Candle Lighter Award

There don’t appear to be any rules for this one–a welcome change.

Liebster Blog Award

I already received the Liebster Blog Award once, so if you’re interested, you can read my acceptance post here. Just replace the name of the nominator in your head.

Now we need to nominate some lucky bloggers to undergo Mrs. Sparkly’s Inquisition, not to mention the rest of it. There are many wonderful people who have already been nominated in this uncontrollable wave of award-giving that has taken over our little corner of the blogosphere. I’ll try my best to nominate new people.

tomte at From My Head

Pherispena Ladea at The Word Asylum

TayMik23 at Novel Journeys

Miriam Joy at A Farewell to Sanity

Good luck to you all. I hope the Mrs. Sparkly badge doesn’t permanently damage your eyesight.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2012 in Interwebs, Etc.

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “It’s like the Oscars in here.

  1. Pherisphena Ladea

    February 26, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    Oop, you’re up in my video too, now. I can’t find any more people to give them to!

    Thank you again! You’re awesome. Like, seriously.

    THANK YOU.

     
  2. Miriam Joy

    February 26, 2012 at 3:13 PM

    Ahhhhhhh more awards! Ha ha, I’m flattered… although that means I’m double-nominated for four awards, damn it! (Nominated eight times, or nominated twice? You decide.)

    I really need to do a post about this.

    Anyway, thanks! 😀

     
  3. TayMik23

    February 26, 2012 at 5:49 PM

    Thank you so much, Allegra! Wow, so many awards! Thank you!

     
  4. Liam, Head Phil

    February 27, 2012 at 2:59 PM

    It’s funny, because everyone has said no to Slankets (truly horrid things) and Mrs. Sparkly’s badge. Both are hideous.

     
  5. Aloha

    February 28, 2012 at 2:08 AM

    Thank you so much for the kind words 😀 I still remember that day, waking up to find this hilarious post about writing-inspired reality TV shows on Freshly Pressed. I was in awe when I realized it was written by a teen– and after I reblogged it and you RESPONDED, I was like “holy quarks! Mom, she’s actually talking to me! o.0” because I’d emailed your FP post to my mom when I first read it. And now we’re FRIENDS, and I’m still in love with your writing. And you, a little bit, because you’re amazing. (And now I totally disprove everything nice you said up there, because it’s late and I’m incapable of forming coherent sentences. Apologies.)

    How old IS Benedict Cumberbatch, indeed? It’s ironic that you said that, because last night I was totally internet-stalking Matt Smith. (And did you hear that Cumberbatch is in line to play Smith’s arch-rival on Dr. Who in season 12? SO EXCITED :D)

     
    • Allegra Davis

      February 28, 2012 at 7:33 AM

      Thank you!
      Mr. Cumberbatch is currently 35 years old. I did hear that he was going to appear on Doctor Who, but I didn’t know he was going to be playing the villain. Thanks for letting me know!

       
  6. tomte

    February 28, 2012 at 8:14 PM

    Thank you!!!! (My first award… (s)???) PLus, I googled Slanket, and to me they look ok (maybe it’s just me????) 🙂

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
