RSS

The Confessions of an Ex-Twilight Fanatic

26 Nov

My past self would have worshipped this poster on her knees.

With Breaking Dawn: Part One taking over the box office, these are dark times for those of us in stolid opposition to the Twilight franchise. From the poorly-written anti-feminist novels to the films stewing in their own angst, everything about the series is begging to be hated. However, all of those posters hanging around featuring Bella clinging to her pasty Edward with Jacob standing aside looking stoic and hunky are stirring up something terrible from my past: my days as a 12-year-old Twilight fangirl.

I used to love those books, I’m sorry to admit. I thought the first volume was surprinsingly well-written upon reading it, which is the exact opposite of my views today. I swooned over Edward, I cursed Jacob’s name, and I felt for Bella all the way through the series. Although I never saw the movies–I wasn’t much of a cinema-goer then–I adored the franchise. I spent hours stalking Stephenie Meyer’s website for any extras, and I could spend just as long on the phone with my older cousin expounding on Edward’s relative hotness. In fact, I think Edward was the first fictional guy I had a crush on, glittery skin and all. So how did a mere two years–and a lot of reading–completely turn around my view of the infamous Saga?

I just said it: a lot of reading. Reading Shakespeare, The Hunger Games, and in-between galore has led me to realize that there’s more to a good story than a plethora of attractive non-humans. Just because a book contains passionate kissing does not make it a great work of literature. At 12, I kind of lacked that understanding, having just started to tentatively step out of the realm of squeaky-clean Middle Grade. I thought Twilight pushed boundaries, made a statement. Yeah, right. Try reading Libba Bray, past self, if you want some quality writing that does that for real.

For your entertainment, here are a few excerpts from my original reviews of the Twilight Saga:

“This is an enjoyable, contemporary romance/fantasy that will keep readers turning pages.” –on Twilight (4 star review)

“This sequel to the popular Twilight is nearly as good as the first. However, Bella’s misery slows down the action and the reader is dragged down with it. I would still recommend that all fans of the first book read it, as it really provides key points and lead-ins to the final books.”–on New Moon (3 star review)

Extra reader insight: the only real reason I didn’t like this one was because there was so little of Edward.

“A fantastic, compelling entry in The Twilight Saga, Eclipse is sure to please fans with the suspense, thrills, and romance that Meyer piles on.” –on Eclipse (4.5 star review)

“The phenomenal finale to the hit teen series, Breaking Dawn will surely satisfy the reader’s thirst for romance and action alike. Don’t be daunted by the novel’s size; every word is worth it!” –on Breaking Dawn (4.5 star review)

Pardon me while I travel back in time to give my past self a smack upside the head.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2011 in Book Rambles, Movies and TV

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Confessions of an Ex-Twilight Fanatic

  1. John Hansen

    November 26, 2011 at 4:12 PM

    You don’t seem like the type of person who would like Twilight even though you don’t anymore.
    Next you’re going to tell me you like Justin Bieber. Now that would be scary. 😉

     
  2. Nerdygirl98

    November 26, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    Ah yes, twilight. I totally agree. I too was completely obsessed but looking back, they really weren’t that exciting or good or anything for that matter. Breaking Dawn was PRETTY good as far as acting, the actors seem to have obtained personalities now. But still, i was giggling while reading this post, because that was totally me! Great post, as always! 😀

     
  3. defiantdove

    November 27, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    I’m a little bit of a hypocrite when it comes to the Twilight Saga. I HATE Stephanie Meyer’s take on vampirism….they glitter!? WTF! And how everything revolves around this one girl, Bella…why? And how unoriginal the books are which has gotten so much undeserved praise!!! Read Anne Rice and let’s see who’s better…Stephanie Meyer has one talent…and that’s entertaining the naive, narrow minds of 11 year olds. But I also went to see Breaking Dawn recently and I really liked it, I tried to ignore all the cheesy, unnecessary parts and the horribly unconvincing make-up. haha. But my question is, a lot of people say it’s anti-feminist? I am a feminist myself but I don’t get what you mean.

     
  4. Jessica

    November 29, 2011 at 7:35 PM

    I strongly disagree with the above comments and I don’t think you have to be a “naive child or teenager” to enjoy the novels. Yes, the twilight craze can get out of control. However, I think Stephanie Meyer has more than that “one” talent. I think her writing is excellent and she’s obviously very successful; seems how her books are so popular and have become movies as well. I am a 23 year old who is mature and successful in life, but I LOVE the twilight series!

    Just had to had my two sense in!

     
  5. Bean

    November 30, 2011 at 1:25 AM

    OMG, I am SO glad I am not the only person on the planet who hates Twilight. (I knew there were more of us out there, just had a hard time finding them.) I am the only person in my book club who hasn’t read the series, and almost the only one who isn’t camping out at the theatre for midnight showings of the movies.
    My oldest is turning 12 next spring, and she is starting to hear the buzz about Twilight. She hasn’t read them yet, but you just gave me the answer I was looking for- if she gets sucked into this craze, keep her reading other stuff too, and hopefully she will pull out of it on her own. (fingers crossed!)
    BTW, I’m a new follower from John’s contest. Congrats on the win!

     
  6. wreakinghavoc14

    December 5, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    I loved Twilight, mostly because it was the first book that I really *read* because I *could* not because I *had* too. Ya know? After actually reading more books (sacrilige, I know) I relaized that paranormal romance, in genral wasn’t very pkeasing to me anymore and moved. but I’m still pretty greatful, I mean if that book hadn’t come out I don’t think I would be near the nerd I am today.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
