RSS

The Versatile Blogging Awards

01 Oct

Thanks to Aloha over at Embracing Insanity (you have not lived if you have not checked out her supreme awesomeness!), I am now the proud recipient of my second blogging award, not counting being Freshly Pressed, to date. And I don’t count being FP’d as an award. I consider the feedback of my fellow bloggers much more valuable than what the blogging gods of WordPress have to say. Anywho, here’s how the Versatile Blogging Award works:

  1. Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  2. Share seven random facts about yourself. [Oh, no, not again…]
  3. Pass the award along to 5-7 deserving blogging buddies.
  4. Contact those buddies to congratulate them!

Okay, here goes nothing on the seven facts. I’ll try not to repeat anything from last time.

  1. I make myself feel guilty for not writing in my novels and short stories often enough. I feel like I owe it to my characters to pay them a bit more attention; after all, I really put them through the wringer with all that death of companions and betrayal by respected elders and dressing up as court jesters to get out of trouble. Especially that last one. Perhaps even worse is my guilt if I leave my characters off in an awkward spot, such as the middle of a conversation or running through the woods. Once I stayed up several hours past my bedtime until I was half-dead over the keyboard so that they could find a decent spot to rest for the night and not be left on the streets. I can tell you’re all out there either laughing your arses off or researching what to do if a friend is displaying signs of insanity.
  2. I can read three titles of computer printouts filed on top of my desk from here: “Colloquial Latin phrases for everyday usage,” “Medieval English Pronunciation,” and “Beowulf in Anglo-Saxon.”
  3. I have had more crushes on fictional characters than actual guys. Men are just so much more attractive in books.
  4. I am going through a sort of wannabe-everything phase. Most of the time, the replacement word for “everything” in that last phrase is either “goth” or “steampunker.” The trouble is, I’m a very, very low-budget whatever-it-is, so I’m just adding the occasional appropriate touch to old outfits. I attract a good deal of odd looks for wearing, oh, say, a necklace with a raven on it over a pink knit top.
  5. Speaking of ravens, I have a serious thing for crows, ravens, magpies, and all related avian beasts. I talk to them like some people talk to dogs.
  6. I’ve gotten into the habit of saying “Pro Iuppiter!” when others would say “Oh my God,” “OMG,” “Good God,” or any other related invocations. My version roughly means “By Jove” or “By Jupiter” in Latin.
  7. My five favorite words in the English language are, in no particular order, zounds, dubious, pandemonium, maelstrom, and snogging.

Now for the awarding! Congratulations to:

Miriam

Nerdygirl98

Taymik23

Faith Othello

John Hansen

EricDoesNotExist

You are all amazing.

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “The Versatile Blogging Awards

  1. John Hansen

    October 1, 2011 at 2:02 PM

    Thanks Allegra! Not sure if I truly deserve this award but I take what I can get. 🙂

     
  2. Miriam Joy

    October 1, 2011 at 3:54 PM

    Oh yeah 🙂
    When I get around to writing a real blog post, I’ll be sure to follow the instructions 🙂

     
  3. EricDoesNotExist

    October 1, 2011 at 6:54 PM

    Well. Gratias tibi ago. Again. So sorry for being utterly useless for six months. Nequissime sum.

     
  4. onehundred80days

    October 2, 2011 at 10:25 AM

    I’ve received a couple of these, but haven’t joined in yet. I guess it’s time!

     
  5. Nerdygirl98

    October 2, 2011 at 11:25 AM

    Thank You Thank You THANK YOU!!!! You’re the amazing one!

     
  6. Nerdygirl98

    October 2, 2011 at 11:36 AM

    Can we repeat bloggers? I don’t have many left to choose from! 🙂

     
    • Allegra

      October 2, 2011 at 1:46 PM

      You sure can. I think I may have repeated a few myself.

       

Quoth the Reader...

 
