RSS

Zombies Vs. Unicorns edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

02 Sep

Zombies Vs. Unicorns edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

Margaret K. McElderry Books, September 2010

Young Adult fantasy, short stories

It is a question that has long been debated (well, since 2007): Which is better, the zombie or the unicorn? Finally, this argument will be decided.

Zombies are lovers and fierce warriors, hunters of the living and just plain cool.

Unicorns are sparkly, pastel, and fart rainbows. But they’re also arbiters of justice, healers and vicious man-killers.

Ultimately, the decision rests with you—which side are you on?

Offbeat, funky, and totally epic–that’s Zombies Vs. Unicorns. Any fan of fantasy, science fiction, and horror will devour this collection, which comprises short stories by such diverse and talented authors as Libba Bray, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare. I had at least two dork-out moments during each of the twelve short stories included in this collection, and I wanted it to go on and on. I was bereft when I finally finished the last piece, “Prom Night,” by the great Libba Bray herself. I’m definitely holding on to this book for re-reading.

I have little to no argument with the anthology as a whole, and certainly not with any of the short stories when taken individually. It’s impossible to pick a favorite, though standouts include Scott Westerfeld’s “Inoculata” and “The Care and Feeding of Your Baby Killer Unicorn” by Diana Peterfreund. It would take a very cold person to not enjoy this book. I can easily see this unfortunately underrated anthology going on to become a cult classic.

Of course, what it all boils down to is, which is better, zombies or unicorns? I thought that by the end of all the stories, I’d be able to easily say which team I’m on. It’s been quite a while now, and it was an extremely difficult decision, but I think, when all’s said and done, I’m on…

Rating: 5 stars

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Zombies Vs. Unicorns edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier

  1. TayMik23

    September 2, 2011 at 6:43 PM

    I read this a few months ago and I still can’t decide which Team I’m on!

     
  2. Matt

    September 6, 2011 at 5:40 PM

    Thanks for the review. I’m definitely going to have to add this to my ever-growing list.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
