RSS

The Last Harry Potter Film *SOB*

18 Jul

I don’t even know why I’m bothering to review Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two. It’ll only make sense to fans who have read all the books and/or seen all the movies, and said fans will not need any encouragement to see this final installment. But even if it’s not needed, I’ll encourage away: HP7 Part Two was above and beyond all expectations. I won’t specify, because every last detail was perfect; suffice it to say that as soon as Hedwig’s theme started playing and the credits started rolling, I shouted at the screen (jokingly, of course) “Play it again!” I’ll be going back a second time this week to see it in 3D.

No, the purpose of this post was not truly to review the film; it was to say what all Potter fans are likely thinking now that they’ve seen the last movie: What the heck do I do now? Well, of course we’ll all be reading the books and seeing the movies again. There’s Universal Resorts’ Wizarding World of Harry Potter, if we’re so inclined. We can go and get our pictures taken at the Platform 9 3/4 photo-op in King’s Cross Station in London. And, of course, come October, we’ll all be spending our days on Pottermore.

 Nevertheless, there is a certain emptiness that comes with the last movie coming out, because since 1997, when the first Harry Potter book came out, there’s always been something new in the series to look forward to. Now, in the summer of 2011, the final movie is out and the grand saga is over. No, let me amend that: I prefer to say it is complete. The saga is complete, but as long as we continue to read and watch and experience Potter, it is never over.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2011 in Movies and TV

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The Last Harry Potter Film *SOB*

  1. Sharry

    July 22, 2011 at 4:02 PM

    *sob* indeed. I was shedding silent tears for a certain character who I never thought was evil in his heart!!! Indeed, there will be a void that can never quite be filled up again now that the last HP book is out and the last part of the last movie it out, also.

     
  2. Dominique

    July 31, 2011 at 11:12 AM

    The last film was great but so sad at the same time. However I was very happy to dress up as Bellatrix Lestrange and go with some friends (and Caroline) who were dressed up as Hogwarts students. 🙂 I can’t believe that all the movies are finished- I guess this really means that were growing up- this day never seemed like it would come.
    You’ll love high school- it really is a lot of fun! Nice, laptops really make all the difference in the world. Once you make the leap from the family computer to your own laptop you never go back. That’s wonderful! How’s sailing going? Are you still doing knockabouts or are you in the racing class? I’m actually not doing sailing this summer- instead I’m swimming every morning. What day are you volunteering? I’ll have to come in and see you!
    -Dominique

     
  3. hermitsdoor

    August 14, 2011 at 7:54 AM

    You will soon place HP onto the bookshelf/DVD case and move on, the way my generation did with Star Wars (1970’s stuff), or for really old folk, C. S. Lewis’ Narnia Chronicles (1940’s stuff, not the recent movies trying to make money off of HP’s or Lord of the Rings fame). But, in about 20 years, you will come across them some day when your are too sick to go to work and would will plow through them with wonderful reminiscence of those years long-long ago. Be sure to do some living now.

     
  4. Tristan

    August 15, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    I know exactly how you feel. I adore Harry Potter. Have been a hardcore Potterhead for years, ever since the first book came out.

    When this movie was about to be released, I anticpated it like it was my birthday. Now that it’s here I can’t bring myself to go see it because that would be finally admitting it’s over. I’ll get over my denial soon though, because I want to see it in the theatres – it’s the only way to see it.

     
  5. Nerdygirl98

    August 19, 2011 at 12:45 PM

    I’ve never heard of Pottermore, i’ll check it out!

     
  6. goodbyereality411

    August 21, 2011 at 1:45 PM

    It feels like the end of an era

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
