RSS

I Judge Books By Their Covers

11 Feb

A huge part of what makes me decided whether or not to read a book is its cover. Sure– if a book has a gorgeous cover, but the inside-flap summary doesn’t appeal to me, I’ll put it down. But, the point is, I wouldn’t have picked up the book in the first place if the cover hadn’t caught my eye, right? Covers have the power to attract or turn off potential readers; I’d say that, most of the time, publishers do a pretty darn good job. Yes, sometimes covers aren’t so great. Today, though, I’ll be spotlighting the best and brightest book covers (in my humble opinion) in different categories. Yes, folks: I’m judging books by their covers.  This will probably be the first in a series of posts on book covers. The awards I’ve selected for this session are as follows:

Overall Best Book Design

Ghostgirl by Tonya Hurley (and its sequels)

Just looking at the cover, this book may not seem worthy of the top award. But take a peek on the inside: the start of each chapter has a simple yet compelling silhouette illustration, an elegant border, and a quote from a song or poem. Every detail of this black-and-pink glory fits the story perfectly.

Most Intriguing Cover

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

When I first saw this cover image, I didn’t care what the book was about. I had to read it, period. The stars, the colors, the impending kiss…every element screams, “This book is a must-read!”

Best Depiction of Main Character

Beka Cooper: Terrier by Tamora Pierce

Every detail of Beka Cooper is straight off the pages, from the white stripes on the Puppy uniform to the circling pigeons.

Most Haunting Book Cover

I Am Morgan La Fay by Nancy Springer

This oldie-but-goodie cover is complete with  leaves, lace, swirling colors, a scary castle in the background, and a pretty girl who looks like she could destroy you in an instant. You can tell it’s a fantasy, and you can tell it’s going to be a little creepy. Look at those mismatched eyes…

Bonus: Look-Alike Covers

Heaven Eyes by David Almond and Stravaganza: City of Masks by Mary Hoffman

These covers share the same colors and a “blue eyes gazing intently from over an old brown city scene” theme. I think– just think, mind you– that Heaven Eyes came first, but either could be the copycat. I like the Heaven Eyes cover better, too. I’ve never seen anyone wear as much eye makeup (with the possible exception of Taylor Swift) as the lady on the Stravaganza cover.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2011 in Art and Photography, Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Quoth the Reader...

 
