RSS

Slow and steady wins the race…right?

05 Oct

I have NEVER taken this long to finish a book.

It didn’t take me this long to finish reading The Hobbit. Neither Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows nor Brisingr lasted this long for me. Even the gargantuan Inkdeath I managed to finish in less than two weeks. But here I am, coming up on the two-week point, and I am still struggling to finish Beka Cooper: Terrier by Tamora Pierce.

It’s not that the book is boring (far from it!). I’ve read books much longer than this. I’m not particularly busy– no more than usual, anyways. But despite my dedicated chapter-a-night rigmarole, I just cannot manage to finish Terrier.  Okay, I lied a little bit. I don’t always finish a chapter every night. More like half a chapter, but still between 10 and 20 pages.

Am I imagining things? Is time seeming to go extra-slow? Well, whatever the cause of this frustratingly long reading experience, I’m actually kind of glad for it. I love Terrier so far. Given my history of whizzing through books (I only needed a night each to finish Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins andThe Last Olympian by Rick Riordan), it’s a nice change.

So I’ll keep on going at my snail’s pace. I’ll renew the book from my library if I have to. But however long it takes me to post another update, keep faith. I’m still here…reading, reviewing, and repeating!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 5, 2010 in Book Rambles, Personal

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Slow and steady wins the race…right?

  1. Dominique

    October 10, 2010 at 2:07 PM

    I love this book! And Tamora Pierce! She’s such a good author; I love all of her books! It is sort of nice to have the reading a book process go longer, if I’m really into a book I read it in a night and then wish for something else to read. Sadly, yes this shall be shocking, I haven’t read a single book since school started. I simply haven’t had time. I’m also not sure if 30 pages into The Host by Stephenie Meyer counts.
    Hopefully see you soon!
    -Dominique

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
