RSS

Stephanie Spinner: A new favorite author

05 Jun

 I have discovered a new favorite author!

If you’ll remember from my post “A Bit Of a Splurge,” I recently purchased a copy of Damosel by Stephanie Spinner. I had never heard of the book or the author, but the subject seemed good (it’s a retelling of Arthurian legend), so I decided to try it out.

Once I’d started reading Damosel, I couldn’t put it down. I finished it in a jiffy, but I enjoyed the book so much that I went straight back to the beginning and read it through again. Just as with the first, my second reading induced both laughter and tears. Damosel is now one of my all-time favorites.

Soon after finishing Damosel (twice), I took one of Stephanie Spinner’s earlier works, Quicksilver, out of the library. Quicksilver is a retelling of a few Greek myths from the perspective of Hermes, messenger of the gods. While I didn’t enjoy Quicksilver quite as much as Damosel, it was a fast read, and laugh-out-loud funny. References to the joke “about the mortal crossing the road” reduced me to giggles. Yet another of Spinner’s works, Quiver, has been added to my TBR  (To Be Read) list.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Stephanie Spinner: A new favorite author

  1. Dominique

    June 8, 2010 at 5:52 PM

    Hi Allegra!
    You’ve peaked my interest in Damosel now, since we have similar tastes in books I would probably really enjoy it too! I’ll have to look for it at the library!
    -Dominique

     
  2. ambernsanders

    June 10, 2010 at 4:50 PM

    Okay. Some feedback.
    First- Your theme. I like it, but you might want to try something more simple, with a customizable header. Like what I did. If people come to a blog that’s flashy they are going to spend their time looking at your theme instead of your post, causing them not to read and not to come back.
    Second- You have an about me in the sideline. Why not create an about me page instead. You can write more and put a picture on there. You don’t have to write a whole lot at once. You can keep adding to the page as you go.
    Third- More pages. You can add a pictures page where you put pictures you take or like, it just adds more to your overall page.
    Fourth- Since you have a personal part of the blog and also a book part you can create a second blog on your account and separate them. More views.
    Fifth- Just like I’m doing help people out, comment on their blogs, write on the forums. People will most always pay your blog a visit.
    Hope this helps 🙂

     
  3. Kristin

    June 17, 2010 at 8:50 PM

    I came across your blog, and if you liked Damosel, you might like another author. Angelica Harris. Her most recent book, Excalibur Reclaims Her King, is the story of a modern day mother sent back to 6th Century to heal Merlin and raise King Arthur from the dead. Check out her website- http://www.angelicaharris.com I think you will like her books!

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
