RSS

A Love of Books (Part One)

02 Jun

Book love is a common trait that comes in varying degrees: some of us like books, some of us love books and could be called a bookworm, and for others, book love is a way of life. I would probably put myself in the obsessed with books/way of life category. Anyway, to celebrate that love of books so many of us share, of decided to created (yet another) post series, each post featuring a quote about book love. So, without further ado, the first quote:

“What is a great love of books? It is something like a personal introduction to the great and good men of all past times. Books, it is true, are silent as you see them on their shelves; but, silent as they are, when I enter a library I feel as if almost the dead were present, and I know if I put questions to these books they will answer me with all the faithfulness and fullness which has been left in them by the great men who have left the books with us.”

–John Bright

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2010 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “A Love of Books (Part One)

  1. Dominique

    June 4, 2010 at 10:37 PM

    Hi Allegra!
    How are you?
    Thanks, I’m having a blast with this play! Lucky, school ends early for you! I don’t get out until June 24th! I’m excited because I have my Sturgis placement tests tomorrow; I’m striving for advanced math and French 2!
    Have fun at your dance recital!
    I am in love with books. What do I do in homeroom nearly every single morning? Have my nose in a book. Either that or I am up in the library getting more books! Books occupy me during dreadfully boring math classes….
    -Dominique

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
