RSS

Igraine the Brave, Inkdeath, and Cornelia Funke in general

26 May

As the weather warms up and homeschooling slows down, I have more and more time to sit on the porch with a glass of iced tea and a good book and just enjoy life. It is in this way that I recently finished reading Igraine the Brave by Cornelia Funke. Since Igraine the Brave was published a while ago (in 2007, to be exact), I’m not going to write a formal review of it, but I will just ramble on a bit.

I have a bit of a quarrel with this book, so naturally I went in reading it expecting the worst. Allow me to explain: When this book first came out, it was the buzz of my school’s annual book fair.  Now, at this time I was just starting to get really into writing, and my first story, which I started before Igraine the Brave came out, was about a girl who wanted to be a knight. The exact same idea is the driving point behind Igraine the Brave. When my classmates heard about my story, and then heard about the new book by Cornelia Funke, they accused me of taking Funke’s idea. I protested, but my peers didn’t relent. Sensitive thing that I was, I basically gave up on my story.

So, as I said, I went into Igraine the Brave prepared (and possibly, hoping?) for the worst. I was pleasantly surprised. Igraine the Brave was thoroughly enjoyable, as with all of other Cornelia Funke’s works.

Speaking of other books by Cornelia Funke: I’ve read and enjoyed two of Funke’s most well-known works, Inkheart and its sequel, Inkspell. A third book in the series, called Inkdeath, came out (I’m not sure when it did– I lose track of these things), but I haven’t read it yet. I can’t really explain the feeling; maybe I’m just tired of the story. Is Inkdeath worth the read? I’d appreciate any yeas or nays from commentors.

On a totally unrelated note, I’d also like to mention that this blog has recently topped 6,000 hits! Thank you, readers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 26, 2010 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Quoth the Reader...

 
