RSS

A graphic novel, Norse mythology, and a new installment in a favorite series

31 Mar

Hello, readers! I’m terribly sorry that I haven’t been posting– busy, busy, busy! But, despite the business in question, I still find plenty of time for reading. The result? I have a lot of book reviews to write, and no time to write them.

That’s why I came up with this snazzy solution: mini-reviews. When I have a huge pileup of reviews to write, I shorten each into one small paragraph and condense them into a single post. So here’s my first set, as well as a gallery of  the book covers. Enjoy!

Calamity Jack by Shannon and Dean Hale, illustrated by Nathan Hale

This sequel to  the graphic novel Rapunzel’s Revenge certainly lives up to its predecessor! There’s a little something for every reader’s interest in this retelling of “Jack and the Beanstalk.” Favorite, familiar characters return in all their glory, and new sidekicks and villains are introduced. As for Nathan Hale’s illustrations, what can I say? They’re perfect.  Any negatives are minimal and don’t affect the book at all.

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman knows his Norse mythology! This take on legends from the snowy north is a fun and heartwarming read. I would have liked it to be a little longer; it’s hardly 100 pages long, in large print, with illustrations. However, this makes it seem like a myth itself, rather than a novel (or should I say novella?). The book is definitely worth the read if you’re a fan of the author.

Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary by Brandon Mull

Fablehaven is a series well deserving of its popularity. This latest installment is as suspenseful and exciting as the previous books. I’m sure I stand with other fans of the series on this opinion: I can’t wait to read the next adventure!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 31, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “A graphic novel, Norse mythology, and a new installment in a favorite series

  1. Dominique

    April 3, 2010 at 7:23 PM

    Hi Allegra!
    How are you?
    Happy Easter (almost)!
    I love Fablehaven and ‘Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary’ was great! I can’t wait for the next book!
    Also, recently I have been reading the ‘Looking Glass Wars’ Trilogy by Frank Beddor and they are really interesting! They are a twist on ‘Alice in Wonderland’.
    -Dominique

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
