RSS

As the dice fall…

08 Mar

Recently, I have been studying probability and statistics. In one excercise, we had to predict the probability of certain numbers coming up when we rolled a pair of dice. Those numbers that had more possible combinations to add up to them had a higher probability of coming up than numbers like, say, three, which can only come up with an “acey-deucey.”

That got me thinking. Sure, in theory, that’s how it works. But what about in an actual game? Geek that I am, I decided to test this outside of school. I rolled a pair of dice fifty times and recorded the outcomes on a line plot. I decided, for interest, to publish my results. Here they are as a bar graph:

As you can see, these results don’t match the mathematical prediction. Nine was the number that came up most often; ten was only seen once!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 8, 2010 in Academia

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “As the dice fall…

  1. Tater

    March 8, 2010 at 7:01 PM

    Wow – there are a few possible combinations to get a “10” and it only came up once. But my question is, “when playing Parcheesi, am I more likely to roll a 1 or a 6?”

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
