RSS

Weekly Geeks 2010-07

27 Feb

It’s time for another Weekly Geeks response! This week, we’re asked to talk comments. Do we moderate? How do we deal with spam? Have we ever gotten a comment from an author? Here are my answers…

My #1 way to keep comments safe and relatively friendly on this blog is moderation. Every comment, even from previously approved commentors, is held in line and must be approved by the administrator (AKA me) before displaying. Sometimes it’s a bother, but I feel safer that way. I’ve never gotten an outright rude or insulting comment, but I would certainly delete said comment if it did happen! If a comment is just subtly snide, I’ll just let it go.

I’m lucky in the fact that I don’t have to worry much about spam. WordPress.com,  my hosting service, provides Akismet spam protection service for free. I can review the possible spam caught and decide what to do with it.

Once I did get a comment from an author: Rachel Vincent, author of the Soul Screamers series, among others, on this post, in which I talked about the new line of books for teens, Harlequin Teen. You can see her comment and my response for yourself, but I was slightly embarrassed that, on top of my having spoken rather disparagingly of her books and similar, I had published some incorrect information on the subject. I would welcome other author comments, but they would certainly make me feel a bit self-conscious!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 27, 2010 in Book Rambles, Interwebs, Etc.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Weekly Geeks 2010-07

  1. Shannon

    February 27, 2010 at 11:47 PM

    So far I haven’t got any negative feedback from any one or authors. I have gotten some good comments from author.

     
  2. Erotic Horizon

    February 28, 2010 at 1:34 AM

    Sometimes it’s a bother, but I feel safer that way.

    What ever sysyem works for you – use it, I know I would be so depress if i was inundated by trolls and spam….

    As for the Vincent incident – At least you know authors are reading the stuff we write…

    Happy reading week my dear…

    E.H>

     
  3. gautami tripathy

    February 28, 2010 at 11:47 AM

    I have had my share of snide comments but thats their problem not mine!

    Weekly Geeks: Commenting

     
  4. Care

    February 28, 2010 at 7:39 PM

    I can’t think of any negative comments I received. And don’t you just love that WP catches most spam? Happy Geeks!

     
  5. Chrisbookarama

    March 5, 2010 at 2:49 PM

    I had a snide comment once that insulted me in a round about way. I left it up. Now it makes me laugh.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
