RSS

Weekly Geeks 2010-4

03 Feb

It’s time for another Weekly Geeks post! This week, the team asks us to share some of our favorites for winter reading.

Well, here where I am, the weather outside is a bit frightful! For the past week or so, it’s been clear, but windy and piercingly cold. This morning we got some snow with a bit of accumulation– just enough to make things look pretty.

Anyway, this time of year I tend to indulge in my favorite genre: fantasy. The thicker the plot (and the spine!), the better! As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve started re-reading the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling; these are a perfect example of my winter reading preferences. They’re engaging, despite the fact I’ve read them all before, and the pages really start turning. The only trouble with that is that I’m finished quickly, and, due to the weather, I don’t feel like venturing to the library to borrow a copy of the next volume. Then I end up reading books that have been gathering dust on my bookshelves for ages, such as the one I’m reading (more like slogging through) now: Secret of the Sirens by Julia Golding. It’s an “eco-fantasy,” and although I like the sub-genre and am even trying my hand at writing a bit of it, I simply don’t like the story. But, when the weather outside is truly frightful, there’s not much else to do!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Quoth the Reader...

 
