RSS

Weekly Geeks: Making A List?

14 Dec

Wow, it’s time for another Weekly Geeks post already! How the time flies. This week, in honor of the upcoming holidays, I presume, the team asks us some questions about books as gifts, for both ourselves and others.

 I don’t tend to ask for books, literally. But bookstore gift cards nearly always find their way into packages for me, whether I ask or not. But usually I do ask. 🙂 I just love the whole gift card concept. Occasionally, I’ll ask for a specific book. But I’ve never said, “Oh, whatever you find…” It might be fun to do that someday, though, and see what I get. Like potluck, only different.

Books seem to make really good gifts for others. I’ve gotten books for friends, and for a relative this year (I won’t tell who, in case they’re reading my blog!!). I most often choose books that seem to fit the person. I know they say, “Buy what you would want for yourself,” but that doesn’t always work, from my experience.

I tend to buy book gifts at big-box bookstores. First, I’ll browse the sale section. Sometimes you can find really great stuff in there. If I don’t find something good, on to the regular shelves. Occasionally I’ll buy books online, but very rarely.You have to pay for the convenience in the ominous form of   Shipping and Handling  **cue scary music**!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2009 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Weekly Geeks: Making A List?

  1. ariana

    December 14, 2009 at 10:15 PM

    my sister is older than me and the same age as you!!!

     
  2. ariana

    December 15, 2009 at 9:42 AM

    Hey how is it going??????!!!!!!!
    where did you get the snow flakes????????????

     
  3. Weekend Reader

    December 15, 2009 at 1:58 PM

    Allegra, thanks for the comment on my blog. I agree – I love to get gift cards, too. I’m usually more willing to take a chance on a book I don’t know much about if I’m purchasing with a gift card.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
