RSS

The To-Be-Read Stack– Literally!

14 Dec

Most bookworms seem to have a to-be-read (commonly abbreviated to TBR) stack, either literal or virtual. Usually mine is just floating around in my head. But now I have a real one sitting on my desk. I took a picture, just for fun. Here it is:

They’re all from the local library. Here’s a description, listed from top to bottom.

  • The Wanderer, by Sharon Creech. Published quite a while ago, this realistic fiction is written by one of my favorite authors of the genre. I’m currently reading this one.
  • The Dark Lord of Derkholm by Diana Wynne Jones. A fantasy that I read a positive review of on a book blog (can’t remember which one) a month or so ago. I was reminded of that review when I picked this one up and found the snippet on the back cover rather amusing.
  • Septimus Heap, Book Five: Syren by Angie Sage. The fifth book in one of my favorite children’s fantasy series. I was preparing to order this one from the online library network, having just finished and reviewed the fourth book, when I spotted this one in the “New Titles” section. I had to reach over and around a little fake Christmas tree to reach it!
  • The Lady Grace Mysteries: Betrayal by Patricia Finney, writing as Lady Grace Cavendish. Told in diary format, this series of Elizabethan historical fiction/mysteries is just plain fun to read. I read the first book in the series a couple weeks ago, but I tore through it so fast it never made it into my “Currently Reading” widget.
 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2009 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “The To-Be-Read Stack– Literally!

  1. ariana

    December 14, 2009 at 4:02 AM

    you are as old as my sister! she 12 almost 13 to!!!
    Do you have any sibilings?

    -ariana

     
  2. Sharry

    December 17, 2009 at 1:27 AM

    Let me know what you think of The Wanderer. I love Sharon Creech. My favorite of hers is Chasing Redbird followed by Bloomability. Good times with those lovely books!!

     
  3. Dominique

    December 19, 2009 at 9:56 PM

    Ah!!!!! I did not know that there was a 5th Septimus Heap book!
    I am going to have to wait until you’ve finished it and returned it to the library to check it out.
    Merry Christmas!
    -Dominique

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
