RSS

Weekly Geeks: What’s the Plan?

12 Sep

I haven’t been very faithful to Weekly Geeks, but I suppose that’s okay; we weekly geeks buttonGeeks aren’t required to post every single week. Anyway, this week, we were invited to write a post about plans we’ve made to read certain books, and how we choose which books to read.

I usually don’t have a plan when it comes to reading: I just grab whatever catches my fancy. But, more recently, I’ve been trying to expand my reading interests beyond fantasy by picking up genres I wouldn’t have previously considered. I know that isn’t much of a plan, and I haven’t been following it very closely. I don’t keep a “books read” list, or a “to be read” list. I don’t use Shelfari or Goodreads. I simply read and review.

But, as I get more and more immersed in the book blogging community (don’t get me wrong, that’s a good thing!), I start to realize it’s a good idea to keep a list of books I want to read. After hanging out on a fellow book blogger’s site for as little as ten or fifteen minutes, I realize I have tons of additions to by mental TBR (to be read) stack. I’ve started planning what I’m going to buy before  I go to a bookstore, but to no avail: I always splurge on books I didn’t plan on.

Later today I’m heading to the handy local Barnes & Noble, and I plan to buy Alphabet of Thorn by Patricia A. McKillip and Enna Burning by Shannon Hale. I’ll report later whether I accomplish my mission!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2009 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Weekly Geeks: What’s the Plan?

  1. gautami tripathy

    September 12, 2009 at 1:50 PM

    Book blogging has increased my reading horizon and that means an enhanced TBR pile. That’s ok, I think!

    😀

    Weekly Geeks: PLanned reading and Spreadsheets

     
  2. reviewsbylola

    September 12, 2009 at 2:18 PM

    I’m the same way as you. I end up leaving the book store with books I had no intention of buying!!

     
  3. Elena

    September 12, 2009 at 5:07 PM

    I know what you mean on buying books I didn’t plan to. I do that all the time. Makes keeping a lid on that tbr pile nearly impossible.

     
  4. Kerrie

    September 12, 2009 at 10:12 PM

    I use Library Thing as a back up storage for my reviews Allegra. try keeping lists of what you’ve read, you’ll find it increases your interest in finding more.

     
  5. Maree

    September 13, 2009 at 12:16 AM

    I don’t have a plan either, but a list is a good idea.
    Happy Weekly Geeks 🙂

     
  6. pussreboots

    September 13, 2009 at 3:31 AM

    Ooh. A Shannon Hale book. Did you end up getting it? My post is here.

     
  7. Nymeth

    September 14, 2009 at 4:38 PM

    Blogging has definitely made me plan my reading a lot more. Like you said, it’s not a bad thing, but sometimes I miss my old random ways.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
