RSS

Google ~ Search Engine or Verb?

24 Aug

Hello, readers! At the moment I’m a bit short of ideas, so I just thought I’d post this quick little blurb to let you know I’m still here.  On to the post…

We all know about Google, probably one of the most well-known search engines on the Internet. But have you ever realized that folks use it as a verb now-a-days? For example, if you mention something interesting, they’ll say, “Oh, I’ll have to Google it and find out more!” Or they’ll start a conversation by saying, “Well I was Googling the other day and…” I notice that people will sometimes say that even when they’re using a different search engine, such as Yahoo! or Ask.com. I suppose this is because it’s more smooth and even sounding to say “Googled” then “Yahoo-ed”. Was it just me, or was Google added to the dictionary recently? Hmm, I’ll have to Google that! 😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2009 in Interwebs, Etc.

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Google ~ Search Engine or Verb?

  1. Sharry

    August 24, 2009 at 11:38 PM

    Hey hey! I was looking around and I came across this It’s a movie based on the Percy Jackson books you so highly recommend! It looks intriguing…

     
  2. frenchymms

    August 28, 2009 at 1:06 AM

    Yes, when we first started noticing people using nouns as verbs, we’d say that the noun had been “verbed”. Think of all the things we say like that: I’ll google it, Do you facebook? Email it to me.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
