RSS

The Roman Conquest Sandwich

18 Aug

I haven’t posted a recipe in a while, so I decided to write about one of my new favorite foods: Squash sandwiches. I know, it sounds very obscure, but really, it’s delicious. This recipe (more of an ingredient list really) is my own variation of the classic.

The Roman Conquest Sandwich

  • Two thickly cut slices of Italian bread, toasted or lightly grilled
  • Grilled veggies (I recommend summer squash, zucchini, and onion)
  • Sliced Romano cheese
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Lemon juice
  • Ground black peppercorns
My Roman Conquest sandwich served up with some garden potatoes.

My Roman Conquest sandwich served up with some garden potatoes.

About this sandwich: I invented this variation of the sandwich (with a little help from my mom, who’s a fabulous cook) when our garden suddenly overflowed with summer squash and zucchini. The veggies were being produced at a rate of at least one of each a day! According to Mom, squash sandwiches are known and loved by those of Italian heritage such as herself. Taking inspiration from the Romano cheese and the sandwich’s origin, I named the creation the Roman Conquest because of the Italian-ness of the recipe in general and how the squashes conquered the garden.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2009 in DIY

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Roman Conquest Sandwich

  1. Dominique

    August 19, 2009 at 1:46 AM

    Hi Allegra!
    That sandwich looks absolutely delicious!!!!
    -Dominique

     
  2. frenchymms

    August 20, 2009 at 11:54 PM

    That is such a great idea! I am not a fan of summer squash or zucchini for the silliest reason: I hate the way it squeaks on my teeth when I eat it! I wonder if the bread and cheese would distract me enough when eating this.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
