RSS

Review: Twilight

01 Aug

Yes, readers, I finally broke down and read Twilight; I was pleasantly surprised!  Here’s my review.

The Twilight Saga: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Copyright 2005, Little, Brown, and Company

twilight coverWhen 17-year-old Bella Swan moves from Phoenix, Arizona to Forks, Washington, she isn’t expecting much. But when she meets the inhumanly beautiful Edward Cullen, they fall unconditionally in love.  The only problem is that Edward is a vampire, and part of him thirsts for her blood.

When a vicious vampire outside of the Cullen family catches Bella’s scent, he will do anything to drink her blood. What follows is a cross-country wild goose chase that leads Bella back to her hometown. Will Bella and the Cullens be able to defeat the thirsty vampire? And how will Edward and Bella’s relationship work? This is an enjoyable, contemporary romance/fantasy that will keep readers turning pages.

Rating: 4 stars.

Praise and Awards:

#1 New York Times Bestseller

New York Times Editor’s Choice

An Amazon “Best Book of the Decade…So Far”

A Teen People “HOT LIST” Pick

A Publisher’s Weekly Best Book of the Year

“Propelled by suspense and romance in equal parts, [this story] will keep readers madly flipping the pages of Meyer’s tantalizing debut.” — Publisher’s Weekly, starred review

“The novels danger-factor skyrockets as the excitement of secret love and hushed affection morphs into a terrifying race to stay alive….Twilight will have readers dying to sink their teeth into it.” — School Library Journal, starred review

First sentence of Twilight: I’d never given much thought to how I would die–though I’ve had reason enough in the last few months– but even if I had, I would not imagine it like this.

Visit the Twilight Saga website at:

http://www.thetwilightsaga.com

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2009 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Twilight

  1. Dominique

    August 1, 2009 at 3:59 PM

    Hi Allegra!
    So you finally read Twilight….. When I read those books I couldn’t put them down. How are you?
    I am sorry about not participating in last month’s challenge, I never got around to looking for a Arthurian book.
    -Dominique

     
  2. Molly

    August 1, 2009 at 6:04 PM

    I LOVE EDWARD!!!! TEAM EDWARD ALL THE WAY!!!!!!! =D haha

     
  3. Sharon McAlister

    August 1, 2009 at 8:10 PM

    I bought this book for my daughter, she really enjoyed the book. So I decided to read it after seeing the movie, well what can I say I really enjoyed this book myself it was a lot better than the movie. It didn’t beat the Harry Potter books tho but it was close to it.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
