RSS

I’m Ba-ack!

01 Aug

Apologies for the delay in posts, readers, but I’m back from Maine and ready to continue blogging. It’s always nice to get away from the computer every once in a while. Anyway, here I’ll relate all that happened over this vacation to our little cabin by the lake.

The ride up was relatively uneventful. We stopped to eat at an IHOP resteraunt, and I finished two books along the way: Troll Fell by Katherine Langrish and Zel by Donna Jo Napoli. I didn’t enjoy the latter; I found it a simple and unimaginative fairy tale retelling. But when we finally got to the cabin, the fun began in earnest. The first full day we were there, we took a kayak trip across the lake to go swimming. You see, the side of the pond that we have our little cabin on is rather shallow and weedy, but the other side is the exact opposite, without cabins yet, and excellent for swimming. Every day we went to our favorite little sandy outcropping, dubbed Posiedon Point, to swim. I finished four other books during our stay: Spellbound by Anna Dale, The Wednesday Tales: The Palace of Laughter by Jon Berkeley, Sixth-Grade Glommers, Norks, and Me by Lisa Papademetriou, and Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. I highly recommend them all, and I’ll write a review for Twilight.

On Thursday it was raining, so we drove over to New Hampshire to do some shopping. Our favorite place is a little commons area filled with outlet shops that have tons of discounts. We went to a few clothing stores, including (much to my dismay) Aeropostale. The noise was deafening, and the place reeked of cologne. It was packed with snobbish teenagers who apparently think that the world revolves around them. I normally wouldn’t think of going to a brand-name store, but I really needed new shorts. Finally, we made it to the discount book warehouse, where you can get perfectly good hardcovers for as little as $4.99. Apparently my parents were feeling generous, because I got five books without having to contribute a cent. I can’t wait to start reading them! 😉

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2009 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “I’m Ba-ack!

  1. Dominique

    August 3, 2009 at 10:31 PM

    Hi Allegra!
    How are you?
    I agree about Zel, I thought it was ok. A good way to pass time though. I have read Troll Fell and I thoroughly enjoyed it. What were your feelings about it?
    -Dominique

    Allegra: I thought Troll Fell was a fun and easy read with an enjoyable plot and great descriptions. It’s not one of my new favorites, though.

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
