RSS

July 2009 Reading Challenge: Camelot, Lancelot, and More

30 Jun

It’s time for our second Here’s To Us reading challenge! Let’s put our hands together for those who successfully completed the previous challenge: Amanda, Dominique, and myself, Allegra! I hope that this month we will have more participants, but it was good for a start. The theme for this month’s challenge is Camelot, Lancelot, and More; or, Arturian legend.

Rules/ How To Enter:

  1. Choose a book with an Arthurian-based theme that you will be reading. For this challenge, the required number of books is only one, but you can read as many as you wish. A book with an Arthurian base can be a retelling of the legend, the actual, original King Arthur and His Knights, or a book that encompasses characters and/or events similar to those in Arthurian legend.
  2. Post a comment here by July 20, 2009 stating the book(s) that you will be reading, your name as you wish it to be displayed in the challenge, and your blog address (if you have one). Make sure the e-mail address in the form is yours and relevant!
  3.  [If you don’t have a blog you can skip this step] Alert readers of your blog that you will be participating in this challenge. Keep folks posted about how you’re doing in the book via frequent posts, a homemade “I’m currently reading..” widget such as mine, or a downloadable widget from a site such as Goodreads, LibraryThing, or Shelfari.
  4. Post a comment here once you are finished with the book(s) you have pledged to read.
  5. [If you don’t have a blog you can skip this step] Write a review for your blog about the book(s) that you read. Make sure that the review includes an image of the book cover.
  6. Once your review is published (or you’ve finished the book, if you don’t have a blog) I will send you a little graphic via herestousblog@gmail.com~ This is your award. If you have a blog, post it as a widget, or if you don’t just print it or keep it on your computer. Do what you will – This award is yours to keep.

Other Points:

I’ll be reading The Sword In The Stone by T. H. White. I look forward to hearing from you, and have fun!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2009 in Book Rambles

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “July 2009 Reading Challenge: Camelot, Lancelot, and More

  1. Dominique

    July 2, 2009 at 10:59 AM

    Hi Allegra!
    How is your summer going?
    I will participate in thise challenge if I can find a book. I have also read I am Morgan Le Fay and really like it. I also read another book based around King Arthur that was very good but unfortunately I can’t remember its title.
    -Dominique

     
  2. Amanda

    July 4, 2009 at 12:25 AM

    Umm… I am kinda confused on what I am supposed to read. Can you describe it in more detail please? Sorry, I am lost….

    Allegra: For the challenge, you are supposed to read a book based around Arthurian legend ~ You know, King Arthur, Camelot, Knights of the Round table, etc. You could also read Howard Pyle’s original King Arthur book.
    For a book to be based around King Arthur, it can be a straight out retelling or a book containing characters or events similar to Arthurian legend. Hope this helps!

     
  3. Laurie

    July 6, 2009 at 2:47 PM

    I’ll be reading “A Connecticut Yankee In King Arthur’s Court” by Mark Twain. I don’t have a blog, though. I look forward to completing the challenge!

     
  4. frenchymms

    July 7, 2009 at 11:58 AM

    I have a cat name Gwennevere, after Guinevere in Camelot. DOes that count? I’m not a fan of that style of literature, but I am a HUGE fan of the musical Camelot and if I had a male cat I would name him Lancelot!

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
