RSS

A Tiring Milestone

16 May

Have you ever stayed up half the night (or more!) reading a good book? This happened to me for the first time last night reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians Book 5:The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan; If you have recently visited this blog you probably will have seen this book cover in the “I’m currently reading…” widget toward the bottom of the page. I started reading it Thursday night and managed to put it down after a reasonable amount of time. Yesterday night: No such luck. I picked up again right after supper and didn’t put it down again til about 2:30 AM, nearly asleep in my bed.

After my concerned parents convinced me to read in my bed, I quickly brushed my teeth, combed my hair and leaped into bed arranging the pillows in a comfortable position. I turned off all but a small reading light, opened the book, and didn’t look up again til the wee hours of the morning.

Man, was I tired, and I felt like I had broken out of a trance. Extreme good-bookness does that to you. After reflecting upon the book, I tried to get to sleep, but some of the book’s parts were a bit too scary for my brains liking. After my brain managed to convince me that all of the slightest noises were hulking monstrosities, I flew out of bed, turned on all the lights, and huddled with a magazine. My dad found me like that an hour or so later, and told me I NEEDED to get to sleep. I managed to do it with my reading lamp on, but even so, I only got 5 hours of sleep. For some reason, I’m not even that tired **huge yawn**…..Okay, maybe a little tired 😉

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 16, 2009 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “A Tiring Milestone

  1. Sharry

    May 19, 2009 at 10:52 PM

    Haha i used to do that all the time. But, hours of late night studying of textbooks has taken all that stamina away for me. It totally is the best time to read, though. In the middle of the night, when all is silent, words in the book seem to leap off the pages and into life!

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
