RSS

Earth Hour: Did You Turn Out The Lights?

29 Mar

Yesterday (March 28)  from 8:30 to 9:30 PM, was “Earth Hour”; For Earth Hour, everyone was supposed to turn out their lights, timezone by timezone. My family turned off our lights and electronics and sat in the living room in the dark for an hour. Fun, right? Actually, it was, knowing that we were contributing to the saving of our planet. None of our neighbors turned off their lights, and the streetlights and business lights were all on. I think that our area should have formally participated. I was reading online that all across the globe, cities “were plunging into darkness for Earth Hour” (Comcast.net). I’m not saying that we (as an area) don’t do anything green, we just don’t give as much of an effort as everyone else seems to be giving.

Anyway, let’s all give three cheers for greenness and do our part!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2009 in Seasonal

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Earth Hour: Did You Turn Out The Lights?

  1. Megan

    March 29, 2009 at 10:08 PM

    Hi Allegra,
    Thanks for the comment. I wish I had known about Earth Hour. I would have definately participated but I didn’t because I had no idea that it was Earth Hour. Now I feel bad that I didn’t participate. Well, there are other things that I can do to help the Earth. Keep in touch.
    Megan

     
  2. frenchymms

    March 30, 2009 at 3:08 PM

    UGH I totally forgot!!! I am an eco-conscious greeny so I am always turning off things that don’t need to be on. Instead, I was a vegetable in front of the tv watching a very cheesy movie. I can’t believe I forgot!!!

     
  3. Clarice

    March 30, 2009 at 6:37 PM

    If I knew about earth hour then i would have done it but trying to convince the rest of the fam would not be easy!

     
  4. Nice Bubbles

    April 3, 2009 at 8:37 PM

    I participated in ” earth hour” this year! It is so amazing how the world comes together like that! 😛

     
  5. Nice Bubbles

    April 4, 2009 at 11:59 AM

    My neighbors didn’t either, because last year i told them about it and they didn’t know. Oh well. I am also eco- conscious too, and proud of it! 😛

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
