RSS

Mall Sagas II

21 Mar

It’s time for another Mall Sagas update! 🙂 Yesterday night I went to the mall to check out this shoe sale they were having. The ad in the Sunday newspaper had a coupon, so why not? There were some really cute ballet flats, but they were either expensive, flimsy, or too small. To make up for that disappointment, I headed to my favorite place in the whole mall: The bookstore! I find it very comforting to escape from the toxic cologne fumes coming out of brand-name clothing stores and enter the calm, clear quietness of the bookshelves. As a bonus, you usually only find sensible people in the bookstore. Anyway, I headed right up the escalator to the young adult fantasy section and began scanning the shelves. As usual, I found many books I wanted to purchase, but my purse isn’t a bottomless pit. I ended up buying two paperbacks: Grip of the Shadow Plague by Brandon Mull and Pandora Gets Jealous by Carolyn Hennesy. It’s always a pleasure to find new reading material!

The strangest sight for this installment of Mall Sagas was right in the bookstore: A group of teenagers bouncing around like chimpanzees on the balcony of the fantasy section. They were hollering, laughing, and making the whole section shake. I was quite annoyed by this as I was in serious contemplation of which books to purchase.

Unfortunately, I did not witness any mall cops on their rolling scooter thingies. I was, however, given a Canadian penny instead of an American one at a cash register. Unusual, but fascinating!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2009 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Mall Sagas II

  1. Meredith

    March 21, 2009 at 2:29 PM

    Hello Allegra!
    I agree the perfume coming out of Hollister and other brand name stores is toxic. Isn’t the Fablehaven series good? I love them as does Caroline. Tell me when you have finished Grip of the Shadow Plague how much you liked it.

     
    • Allegra

      March 22, 2009 at 11:15 AM

      Meredith–I do enjoy the Fablehaven series! They are very popular in my class. I’ll tell you what I thought of “Grip of the Shadow Plague” when I complete it; I just have to finish up the book I’m reading now.

       
  2. frenchymms

    March 22, 2009 at 5:03 PM

    Ugh, the cologne pouring out of those stores gets stuck in my nose for hours and I’ve never even set foot in any of them! If it’s any compensation, you will get an extra credit slip if you show me that Canadian penny!

     
  3. a person

    March 24, 2009 at 8:50 PM

    I love those ‘toxic fumes’ that come out of Hollister and Abercrombie some aero and some AEO where do you shop? BTW my fave series is the Twilight Saga
    -and yes another twilight girl-

     
  4. Allegra

    March 25, 2009 at 6:10 PM

    a person: Well, lots of people must like the cologne, otherwise the stores wouldn’t have it, would they? Actually, I have serious trouble breathing around it.
    I don’t shop at those brand name stores, just online and from catalogs like Land’s End. I also haven’t read the Twilight Saga yet; I suppose I’m a little ‘behind the times’, as they say…Or do they even say that anymore?

     
  5. a person

    March 26, 2009 at 8:51 PM

    ahhh yes the great old lands end they have nice stuff but are expensive i know those brand stores are too but…
    and back to books: what kind of books do u like? Well i go to ur skool and im in ur grade i recommend the taker ask ms wheaton where it is!

     
  6. a person

    March 26, 2009 at 8:52 PM

    do u have athsma? maybe thats why you have trouble or maybe the smell is to strong for your nose…. who knows…

     
  7. Clarice

    March 26, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    what kind of books do you read…fantasy,fiction,non-fiction
    and a person: i ♥ the twlight saga too!

     
  8. Allegra

    March 26, 2009 at 10:48 PM

    a person: Oh, for Land’s End, we order from the cheap “Overstocks” magazine, so it’s not so expensive. To answer your two questions, I love fantasy books and historical fiction, and, yes, I do have a very mild case of athsma, not serious enough to have to take an inhaler, though.

    Clarice: I read mostly fantasy, with a little historical fiction mixed in.

     
  9. Clarice

    March 29, 2009 at 2:47 PM

    thats cool i’m more of a fiction person/ realistic fiction person i probably couldn’t read a fantasy but i could see the movie.

     
  10. Nice Bubbles

    April 3, 2009 at 8:41 PM

    I LOVE Holister, Abercrombie, Aero and AEO! But sometimes it does get stuffed up! 😛

     
  11. Amanda

    April 4, 2009 at 11:26 PM

    The fumes make me gag too! When I go past the stores! I don’t like them…. (I do not have athsma) No offense to people to like them, I’m sorry I just don’t. How are the books you picked out? Any good?

     
  12. Allegra

    April 5, 2009 at 3:12 PM

    Amanda: The books I picked out were fantabulous! 😀 I would recommend them to all fantasy lovers!

     
  13. Molly

    April 22, 2009 at 10:27 PM

    TWILIGHT LOVER HERE!!!!!! =] Allegra, READ TWILIGHT. Thats an order! haha jk..No but…READ IT! A book you should NOT READ is Kiss Me Kill Me..hated it. lol You know that… Told you that like a bazillion times. haha

     

Quoth the Reader...

 
